Security

Security in Warewolf is Windows-based.

To access Server permissions inside Warewolf:

  1. Click the Settings icon
    Settings Icon used in Warewolf to change security and permissions
  2. Select Security from the sub menu on the left of the Settings Tab that opens.

There are three important concepts to remember with permissions and how they are allocated by Warewolf:

  1. Resource Permissions over-ride Server Permissions
  2. Permissions are cumulative in nature
  3. Anyone accessing the server can get Public permissions if set in the URL

Giving Windows Group A on the server specific permission, will apply to every resource, except if a Resource is specifically allocated different permissions for Group A below in the Resources Permissions area. Server Permissions are therefore a default mechanism to allocate global access to Warewolf and Resource permissions allow fine-grained control of system usage and access.

As a member of “Data Capture” and “Data Retriever” groups, a user would have all the permissions of “Data Capture” PLUS all the permissions of “Data Retriever”. So if “Data Retriever could only execute Service A and “Data Capture” could only view Service A, then the user, as a member of both groups, would be able to View and Execute Service A.

By default accessing a server will give every user the permissions of the “Public” group. The “Public” group is a Warewolf defined group and applies to everyone accessing the system. This makes it easy to turn security features on or off. By giving “Public” Administrator access to your server, regardless of who logs onto your server, they will have Administrator access.

The account installing Warewolf is automatically added to the “Warewolf Administrators” group created by the installer.

 

 

Not what you were looking for? Ask our expert users in the Community Forum.

FacebookTwitterLinkedInGoogle+Email

Rate This Article

(46 out of 139 people found this article helpful)